Red Velvet Cupcakes

Happy birthday to my good friend Elaine!

I made too many cupcakes.  Way, way too many.  Elaine said that a dozen would be enough, so I made two dozen.  It’s always better to make too much food than not enough, Lesson 1 from my mom.  Plus, I wanted to try and make a tiny frosted layer cake.  So, I baked the cakes in ramekins and tried to take them out today.  They sort of fell apart and were too delicate to take out of the ramekins.  I foraged ahead and tried to salvage what I had.

Totally appetizing. I’m not taking this anywhere with me.

This is what happens when the cake is too soft, you don’t have an off-set spatula and the lighting is too low in your kitchen.  My sister and her boyfriend volunteered to eat this, with very little persuasion.  At least it still tastes good.  And the cupcakes turned out, so not all is lost!

Red and velvety

Red velvet cake gets it’s color from food coloring.  But it also gets it’s color from a reaction between the cocoa powder and acid in the batter.  Cocoa contains anthocyanin, a red pigment found in other red foods like red cabbage.  When the cocoa powder reacts to the acid in the buttermilk and vinegar in this recipe, it brings out the red color in the cocoa powder.  And, if you empty a whole bottle of red food coloring into the batter, you will also get red.  I did both and they turned out a pretty decent color.  I was still short on the amount of food coloring in the cake, but I wasn’t about to go back to the store and get more.

Yes, I did get red food coloring everywhere, including my fingers.  This recipe is from Joy over at Joy The Baker.  These were super tender and flavorful cupcakes with just the right amount of cocoa and adding cinnamon to the buttercream was an excellent idea.  The cinnamon gives the cake some extra depth of flavor.  Thanks for the great recipe, Joy!

Leave a Reply

