Sometimes, You Just Need Cookies

It was one of those days where so many things went wrong, that I just wanted to laugh.  When the odds are against you, why fight it?  When I got in this morning at 6 am, there was only one working oven and usually we have four.  One oven and 200 people to feed for breakfast by 8am.  Also, we still had to prep the ingredients for the breakfast sandwiches, bacon, egg, cheese and english muffins.  Good thing I had my coffee this morning.  With some fast thinking and careful planning by starting ingredients that would take the longest first, we made it.  Whatever in the universe was kind to us this morning, I thank you.

And so the day progressed.  I parked it on the couch with my kombucha when I got home and didn’t move for a while.  I feel as though I am in a perpetual state of dehydration, so alcohol hasn’t sounded very appealing lately.  Much like sometimes you need pizza and ranch, sometimes you need cookies, so I made some tonight.  Specifically, oatmeal raisin cookies.  Don’t you go adding chocolate to my oatmeal raisin cookies either.  Their lack of chocolate is probably the reason that oatmeal raisin cookies are my favorite.  I have been craving an this cookie the whole week, so I finally took the plunge and baked some.  That’s the thing with cookies; they’re not hard to make, but the dough makes so much that you end up baking cookies forever.  This batch makes four dozen, so this will keep me occupied for a while.

The recipe I used is very similar to the one I wrote about last year.  The key with cookies is all in the creaming of the butter and sugar in the beginning.  The the air that gets incorporated in this step really makes a difference in the texture of the cookie.  Also, it’s important to have a glass of milk and for the cookies to be fresh out of the oven when you eat them.

I’ll leave you with this picture of a cheesecake I plated at work that has nothing to do with cookies.  It’s cheesecake topped with caramel, chocolate raspberry sauce swirls, a salted caramel macaroon and peanut brittle with a vanilla tuille.

One thought on “Sometimes, You Just Need Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookies « Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

