Chocolate Chip Cookies

I realize I said I love oatmeal raisin cookies because of their absence of chocolate.  What can I say, I’m a huge hypocrite.  Oatmeal raisin are still my number one favorite cookie, but every once in a while, I enjoy a chocolate chip.  This is the second week in a row I’ve made cookies, which is a little out of the ordinary.  No one’s complaining, but it sure does make the apartment hot.

My mom used to make chocolate chip cookies every once in a blue moon.  This was always a monumental occasion in our house, with its absence of sugary desserts.  We’d have cookies for days though, because her cookie recipe seemed like it made hundreds of cookies.  There’d be paper bags with cookies cooling on them all over the kitchen, leaving little butter circles as evidence of their four sticks of butter.  The butter is probably the reason my mom made them so infrequently, but also the reason why they were so, so delicious.

I think that’s why I like making cookies so much; because they feel like a really special treat to me.  I very rarely make desserts at home, mainly because I will eat them all!  I don’t need dessert every night either.  My favorite part of the cookie is not really the cookie itself, but the creaming of the butter and sugar to start them.  There’s something very soothing about creaming butter and sugar together.  I also really, really like to eat the cookie dough.  My mom would always scoop out a big hunk of cookie dough and give us each a taste.  Salmonella be damned!  I made Alton Brown’s “The Chewy” recipe last night and we both enjoyed the cookies very much.  They are a little flatter than what I’m used to, but they do not suffer in taste.  Rich with butter, eggs and sugar, just the way a cookie should be.

Will you make me some chocolate chip cookies the next time I come home, Mom?  xoxo

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

