One Month In

Yesterday morning, I worked the line again, only I worked the breakfast line.  Working the line at night and in the morning are two different experiences entirely.  The night line, especially the happy hour station, has so many different components to all the dishes.  The night line is mostly frying, whether it’s deep fried or on top of the flat top.  The morning line is still busy, but in a different sort of way.  I was asked yesterday if I was good at flipping eggs, and although I am not, I’m a little better after working yesterday morning.   It turns out that it’s not as hard as you’d think to flip eggs and not break the yolk.  I definitely broke my fair share of yolks though!

I’m about a month into my internship now and I have learned more about cooking in the last month than I have in my whole life.  It’s a way different world between the school kitchens and my internship kitchen.  I am grateful for the opportunity to have gone to school and learned different techniques and cooking methods, but I have done a lot of learning in the past month that would have been difficult to do at school.

  • Sense of urgency becomes even more important in a real kitchen.  There’s people waiting for their food and they don’t want to wait any longer than they have to.  Learning to make food as fast and as perfect as it could be is quite the learning experience.
  •  COFFEE.  I drank yerba mate during school and that seemed to work all right, but as of late, I’ve been on a coffee kick.  I am exhausted all the time and work pretty long hours.  Coffee is the only thing that’s helped me get through it.
  • Work clean.  It only makes you look better.
  • There is never nothing to do.  The phrase, “I’m done,” is not really applicable in the food service industry.  Sure, we finished feeding the banquet for tonight, but there’s brunch tomorrow to prep for and another event on Monday.  There’s always something to be done!
  • I’m become very good and tuning out conversations.  I work with a bunch of boys, who let’s face it, never grow up.  I’ve gotten really, really good at selective hearing.
  • There approximately 10 different ways to complete a task and no one will hesitate to tell you how their way is the best.  I was skinning sides of salmon one night and four different people walked up to me and demonstrated four different ways to do it.
  • Working in a kitchen is hot.  But, I’m kind of over it.  I guess I’m just used to sweating constantly and drinking water like it’s my job.  I’m usually cooking furiously, so I don’t notice the heat after a while.  I get made fun of for my bright red face though.  I wish that didn’t happen to me, but there’s not a whole lot I can do about it.

One more day of work and then I’m off for two days!  Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

