A Day at my Internship

This has nothing to do with my post. Except that I think it’s really funny and I was thinking about school today.  Sausage making day in Meat Cutting was one of my favorite days.

5:45 – Alarm goes off.

5:50-6:30 – Eat over night soaked oats, make coffee, get dressed, find a clean chef’s coat.

6:30- 6:35 – Try to leave and then realize that I left my nail polish on.  Run back into our apartment and take it off.  Do a bad job and it looks like have dirt on my fingernail because I was wearing black nail polish.

6:35 – 6:50 Drive to work.  Find a place to park.

7:00 – Arrive at work.  Working in banquets this morning.

7:00 – 8:00- Make turkey club sandwiches.

8:00 – 10:00 – Make sandwich platters.  Slice three cheese, three meats, red onions, pickles, butter lettuce and tomatoes.  Arrange on marble platters and wrap.  Put mayo and mustard in side containers for sandwiches.

10:00 – 11:15 – Make breakfast potatoes for tomorrow.  Help chef prep for a wedding tasting.

11:15 – 11:30 – Cut sandwiches for lunch party.  Put onto platters and cut back ups.

11:30 -12:35 – Finish breakfast potatoes (they were in the steamer) and finish helping for the tasting.

12:35 – 1:00 – Lunch break.

I feel like I live in these pants. I also love my Birkenstock kitchen shoes.

1:00 – 2:15 – Peel, peel cube and bake butternut squash for green chile tomorrow.  Help get pretzels and pop corn ready for an afternoon party.

2:15 – 4:10 – Take silver skin off and slice 38 pounds of boneless beef chuck for fijitas tomorrow.  Why did I volunteer for this job?  I am reminded of my meat cutting class, except for that I can actually feel my fingers this time.

4:10 -4:40 – Make a few sandwiches for tomorrow and head out!

 

It was actually hard to remember everything I did today, but I like that my days are packed full of tasks.  Banquets are interesting because it’s a ton of prep work and pretty low key and then suddenly there’s a mad rush right before the party of prepping food and plating it.  I am I highly organized person, so I enjoy all the planning that goes into prepping for banquets.

I had a burger at Southern Sun last night that I thought was worth mentioning.

Burger with pepper jack cheese, battered & fried poblanos, pickled red onions and tomato jam

Southern Sun does their specials right! There was a really good mix of flavors on this burger: crispy from the poblano, sweet from the tomato, acidic from the pickled onions and creamy from the cheese.  I can’t remember the last time I ate a burger either, so it made it especially tasty.

Quinn’s Golden Ale

And of course, beer.  I haven’t had a beer I didn’t like at Southern Sun.  A nice little treat for a Monday.  Another early day tomorrow for me.  Hope you had a good start to the week!

Leave a Reply

