Home Again

20120730-175439.jpg

Right now I am sitting in the Milwaukee airport, on the way home to Boulder. My vacation ends abruptly with a 6am shift at work tomorrow. I was the first one to leave today, so I had to say good bye to everyone alone. I can’t help it, but I cry every time I leave my family. I don’t get to see them very often and
when I do see them, our time is always too short together. I wish we all lived closer!

20120730-175448.jpg

Family will always tell you that you’re doing a good job, that you’re a good person and how accomplished you are, regardless of what you’re doing. It’s nice to have people be your cheerleaders and make you feel good about yourself. Sometimes, I forget to be good to myself and get a little too
caught up in the small details of life. I don’t know about you, but it’s always easier for me to be negative about things instead of positive. Family reminds me to be positive.

20120730-175427.jpg

Family will make me Rocky Mountain Oysters and gin and tonics and makes me laugh deep and loud belly laughs. Family cooks for me and lets me cook for them. My family is boisterous and sarcastic but also sweet and more than willing to welcome new additions to the family. We’ll always show you a good time.

20120730-180922.jpg

20120730-181031.jpg

I only see some of my family just once a year in Wisconsin, but I feel lucky that they are a part of my life and lucky that I get to spend a little time with them in one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. I miss you already, family of mine. Until next year, North Woods.

Leave a Reply

