Off Roading

 

No, not the kind of off roading you were thinking of.  We took my wheel chair out for a spin on the Wonderland Lake path this morning.  It does surprisingly well on the dirt, as long as it’s packed down pretty hard.  It was a gorgeous day for a little walk.  I tried not to be too jealous of all the runner’s going by us, but I was.  It’s weird for me to wake up in the morning and not go for a run, or at least think about going on one.

We still had a fun walk though!

 

My sister used to be a care giver, so she’s actually pretty good a driving a wheel chair already.  She knew the secret of pulling me backwards up hills instead of forwards and she even jogged a little with the chair.  At least someone got some exercise!

 

Steve pushed me for a little while too.  We did some donuts and some 180s with the chair. I think he was trying to make me feel better about not being able to walk.  He also brought along Georgie!

Georgie loves water.

I tried to enlist Georgie as my handicapped dog, but he didn’t accept my job offer.  There were too many distracting smells and new sights to be sniffed and seen.  Oh well, he’s a pretty good “cheering up” dog, and a cute dog too.

 

My mom leaves tomorrow and I am sad to see her go.  I don’t know what I would have done without her this past week.  It’s been challenging learning how to live my life without any walking.  Things that used to be so easy now seem like a daunting task.  Even the simplest things, like getting up to get a glass of water, or going to the bathroom in the middle of the night are hard.  I am just so thankful my mom was here to help me through the first week of it.  My sister and Steve will be here to help over the next few weeks ahead too.

She’s jealous of my sweet ride.

It was nice to get out in the sunshine today, even if I was just sitting.  It’s better than sitting around and moping.  Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

