Thoughts on Being Temporarily Handicapped

  1. Staring.  People are staring at me more than they ever have in my life, and it’s not because I’ve gotten foxier looking recently.  As sexy as my waterproof cast is, I’m pretty tired on being stared at.  While I admit that riding on a scooter is not seen as often as crutches, is it really that weird that I would use it?  Using a scooter to get around does not give people license to openly gape at me.  Or make comments, which is what usually comes next.  Today, a man passed me and very obviously stared at me as he walked by.  He walked a few feet, and then turned around and said, “They gave you that instead of crutches?”  I replied that I didn’t want crutches.  This man was on the phone too!  I feel really special that he took time out of his phone conversation to butt into my business.
  2. Accessibility.  I am very lucky that my handicap is only temporary, but this experience has opened my eyes to how unaccessible the world is when you’re handicapped.  Sure, they have those nice parking spots for you close to all the stores, but getting out of your car isn’t the only obstacle you face.  I was rolling around west Pearl Street on Tuesday and wanted to go into one of my favorite stores, but quickly discovered that I wouldn’t be able to get in there.  Very steep stairs at difficult to maneuver a scooter up.  I don’t like struggling with my scooter in public, see point number 1.  Uneven sidewalks are another obstacle that I would have never thought of.  I dropped my tea on the ground today when I hit an uneven patch of cement, which I had just taken approximately two sips out of.  Sweet.
  3. Multitasking.  It’s quite the task moving my scooter in and out of the car.  I have to collapse the handle, heave it into the back of my car and then crutch or hop my way to the driver’s seat of my car.  I will say that I am grateful that I have the ability to drive still.  If I couldn’t leave my house unless someone else took me, I would have gone insane already.  So, I try to accomplish as many errands as I can when I go out.  You’d think I would have done this before my accident too, but apparently not.
  4. Waterproof cast.  I talked about my awesome waterproof cast in this post, and I am still in love with it.  It makes me feel semi normal that I can take a bath with both feet in the tub instead of just one.  And I could go swimming in my pool too!  Swimming is a relative term, maybe I’ll just sit on the steps leading into the pool.
  5. Not running.  At first, I could ignore all the other people out running.  I wasn’t even that upset when my mom and sister went on a run together.  Now the weather is changing towards Autumn, it’s harder for me to ignore the runners.  Autumn has a special place in my runner’s heart because I trained for my first half marathon in the fall of 2008.  I ran the Denver Rock n Roll in October, so most of my long runs took place on crispy, cool mornings.  I’s hard for me not to think about this race when Autumn rolls around.  No Fall races for me this year.  Maybe I should volunteer at one instead?
Leave a Reply

