Pumpkin Oats

The Pumpkin Spice Latte is back.  This is not a monumental event for me, as I didn’t notice the signs until an hour after I’d been sitting in Starbucks.  I think I tried one a couple of years ago and remember being highly disappointed with the flavor of it.  It’s also still 85 degrees during the day in Boulder and not Autumn-like at all.  I’m ready for Autumn and for a little pumpkin in my life.  I enjoy it in some foods, but I didn’t run to the store and buy 50 cans of it on September first.  Like I’ve said before, I think it’s the accompanying spices that are paired with pumpkin that I enjoy more than pumpkin itself.

I do like pumpkin oatmeal.  Oatmeal does not keep me full for hours, like some people claim.  Unless I add some fat and some other fillers to my oatmeal, it doesn’t satiate me for too long.  Pumpkin is one filler that I add to increase the fiber.  I won’t pretend that oatmeal mixed with pumpkin tastes like pumpkin pie, even if you add pumpkin pie spice, because it doesn’t.  It doesn’t have copious amounts of sugar mixed in, there’s no delicious, flakey crust and there’s no whipped cream.  These oats are pretty tasty though.

 

In this bowl:

1/2 cup oats

1 cup almond milk

1 teaspoon chia seeds

1/2 banana

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

shakes of cinnamon & nutmeg

peanut butter, maybe 1 tablespoon?

 

Try it out the pumpkin oats, but don’t OD on it.  We’ve still got over a month until Halloween and over two months until Thanksgiving.  Don’t burn out and pass on pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving!

 

Leave a Reply

