Layered Nutella Pumpkin Bread

I really like it when baked goods turn out the way I want them to.  I came up with this idea after two days of thinking what to do with my leftover pumpkin.  Usually, when I come up with ideas and get really excited about them, the fail horrifically.  Much like the first time I tried to make gnocchi.  Or the time my sister and cousin and I made a chocolate cake and accidentally put an entire cup of baking soda in it.  But, that’s a story for another time.  I’ll let you imagine what happens to a cake when there is that much baking soda in it.

I’ve seen versions of this loaf swirled with Nutella, but I like the look of the contrasting colors.  When I took the loaf out of the pan, I was pretty disappointed to see that the outside was all one color.  But, when I cut into it, I was rewarded with a pretty layered loaf!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup Nutella

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. Mix together pumpkin, oil, eggs, sugar, and vanilla.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the remaining dry ingredients.
  4. Add the dry ingredients and mix to combine.
  5. Divide the batter into separate bowls.  Mix Nutella into one half.
  6. Spread one batter into a greased loaf pan.  Then drop the second batter on the top. Bake 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

The Nutella adds a very subtle rich, chocolate flavor that I quite enjoyed.  The warm spices in this loaf pair nicely with the chocolate as well.  This loaf is not one of the faster ones I’ve put together because of the separating of the batter.  It’s worth it to make it though; it’s like a small surprise when you cut into the loaf and there’s two layers of flavor.  Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Layered Nutella Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

