A Birthday Dinner at Salt

Yesterday was my birthday!  I had the pleasure of going out to dinner with my boyfriend and sister.  We went to Salt and had quite a lovely time.  We started off with birthday cocktails of course!

Mine is on the front right, bf front left and sister back.

 

I had the “Back in Thyme” cocktail:  Dancing Pines Gin, fresh lemon and lime juice, thyme simple syrup, milk, egg white, orange flower water, on the rocks

I do love me some gin.  With our fancy drinks, we had the intermediate cheese plate and some charcuterie.    Both were incredible and it may have been my favorite part of the meal.  I could eat charcuterie and cheese with a gin cocktail every night for dinner and be a happy, happy girl.

Intermediate cheese plate: la tur, cow-sheep-goat | capra verde, goat | pecorino foglie de noci, sheep.  It is worth pointing out the condiments on the cheese plate too: local honey with the comb, onion jam and local peaches.  That onion jam was sensational!  The onions were caramelized to perfection and their sweetness was a great compliment with the cheeses.

Charcuterie choices, from left: bresaola, lardo and andouille sausage.  The lardo was interesting.  It tasted like whipped bacon fat to me, which isn’t a bad thing.  It was just very rich and they aren’t shy with the portion.  A little goes a long way with this stuff.

I splurged and got the seafood entree.  It had salmon, mussels, and shrimp, all swimming in a thin corn soup with potatoes.  It was an excellent choice for birthday dinner, as rarely get the chance to eat seafood as often as I’d like.

Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel tart with cocoa nib ice cream

 

Chocolate peanut butter mousse bomb

Self explanatory.  I will say that I don’t usually go for chocolate desserts, but this one had salted caramel and I love salted caramel.  I feel about salted caramel the way most people feel about chocolate.

It was a fabulous dinner with fabulous company.  Here’s to my 26th year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

