Uncasted

I had a little photo shoot in my bathroom on Thursday night after I got my cast off.  It is important for me to document all of my injuries this year because it is the easiest way for me to track my progress.  I many pictures of my hand and elbow pre and post surgery, so it felt appropriate that I do the same for my foot.

My left, your right is the leg that is hurt.  A little fuzzy-sorry.

I hope you don’t mind too much that I share these photos.  I promise no scar pictures though; this is a food blog after all and scars aren’t all that appetizing.  As much as I mentally prepared myself for what my leg would look like when the cast came off, I was still shocked at how small it is.  I think it is mostly noticeable to me more than anyone else.  My sister claimed that she couldn’t notice that much of a difference.

It is just difficult for me to accept that my lovely, large calf that once carried me through long distance running races looks so small now.  I pride myself on my big calves, even if that means I can’t wear as many tall boots as I’d like.  It will get back to normal though.  Once I can start walking again, the muscle will start to regain strength.  I can only estimate, but I’d guess that I’ll be walking in the next three to four weeks.

The next time I run, which will probably be January 2013, it will be like starting all over again.  I am looking at this as a unique opportunity to fall in love with running all over again. Back in 2006 when I started seriously running, I remember how fun it was when every run I did was a personal distance record.  Each run was just a little longer and felt a little better.  I can also remember the first run I did where I wasn’t sore the next day-I was in shape!  How lucky that I can experience those small triumphs again and re-teach my body to run.  The rewards will be even sweeter though, because of the struggles I have gone through.  It will feel that much more satisfying to over come my injury.

It feels therapeutic to share these pictures.  Thank you in advance for letting me share.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

