People Are Nice

I’ve been in this world for a little while now, and it’s been just enough time to give me a cynical outlook humankind.  When you have worked in customer service for several years like I did, it doesn’t foster a positive image of fellow humans.  You tend to leave work wondering where all the decent people went.

But, lately, I’ve been reading Pema Chödrön and she just might change my mind on humanity.  I’m reading When Things Fall Apart, Heart Advice for Difficult Times, which I fittingly picked up the week before my foot accident.  I was struggling with some other personal issues and needed a fresh perspective.  Today I read the chapter on compassion, which is a subject that I have learned a lot about during this time of injury.  It’s pretty easy to have a cynical outlook on others, but it actually takes more courage to see the good in everyone.  “As we learn to have compassion for ourselves, the circle of compassion for others-what and whom we can work with and how-becomes wider.”

It got me thinking of all the nice encounters I’ve had since I hurt myself.  I discovered that I’ve actually experienced more good than bad during this time.

  • My mom drove out here and spent the week with me after my surgery.
  • Getting dinner made for me by my sister’s boyfriend’s parents.
  • Having a boyfriend who has been unwaveringly supportive during my time of struggle.
  • My friend who carried my bag to my apartment door for me this afternoon.
  • My co workers who still invite me to happy hour and go somewhere close, so I don’t have to go as far.
  • The man who offered to wipe the snow off my car the morning it snowed.
  • Countless people who have held the door open for me so I could get through more easily.
  • My sister and her boyfriend hauling me up three flights of stairs so I could hang out at their apartment.
  • All of my co workers who are pulling for me.
  • My best friend, who called today, the first thing she said was, “You got your cast off!”
  • Every person I’ve eaten lunch with at work who has cleared my plate for me.
  • My boyfriend, who stills talks about our vacation we’re going on in two weeks and all the fun we’ll have, even if I can’t really walk.
  • The person who goes in the door before me at my apartment complex and latches the door open so I can get through it easier.

I guess people might be pretty nice after all.  Others compassion has stood out to me more than ever these days.  It’s something we can all work on, right?  Just a few more hours in the weekend and then back to the grind.  Happy Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

