Steel Cut Oats

Steel cut oats, blueberries, maple syrup and butter.

 

It’s finally cool enough in my apartment to eat oats in the morning without turning on the air conditioning.  I deem it appropriate to eat oats when I can prepare and eat them without sweating.  The window has to be open to let cool air into the living room though.  Steve thinks I’m crazy for opening the window when it’s 35 degrees outside.  You try eating oats in a south-facing apartment in Boulder; you’ll open the window too.

I’ve made steel cut oats two mornings in a row and they are worth the cook time.  The low and slow cook time makes them super creamy and more filling than rolled oats.  I always got impatient when I made them before, so they were still a little chewy when I ate them.  Yesterday morning, I put a pot on low while I showered and got ready for work.  By the time I was ready to eat, they were ready.  Mine cook for about 45 minutes and then I take them off the heat to cool down.  My ratio for oats is 1/3 cup oats to 1 and 2/3 cup water.

We’re going to see Argo this morning, which is weird for me because I’ve never seen a movie before noon.  Our tickets will be super cheap though.  We’re also going to The Kitchen Next Door for lunch, where I will order the tomato soup.  This is the best tomato soup ever!

Kitty on my lap, good start to Saturday.

Leave a Reply

