The Kitchen Next Door

I have been to The Kitchen Next Door three times now and I’ve ordered tomato soup every time I go.  I’m not sure why I decided to order soup the first time I went, but I haven’t ordered anything since.  It’s simply the best tomato soup I’ve had.  I almost got the mussels this time, but I just had to get the soup.  It’s that good.

 

The splash of olive oil on the top is the first thing that got me.  I always destroy the splash and swirl it all around into my soup.  This soup is simplicity at its finest, which is probably why I like it so much.  It’s light and bright and highly satisfying.  The bread they serve it with is also perfectly toasted, with some slight char on the edges.  It’s bread that’s perfect for dunking into soup.

We also had the chickpeas and hummus, but I was too busy stuffing my face to take a picture of it.  It comes with hummus on one side of the plate and chickpeas with stewed tomatoes, carrots and spices on the other side.  It’s served with warm pita bread and drizzles of olive oil.  Delicious.  Steve was a little more adventurous than me and got bangers and mash.  I had a bite of sausage and it was excellent.

It’s a dreary day here in Boulder, which limits my excuses for not trying to clean up.  Has anyone seen Argo yet?  We went and saw it before lunch and I love it!  Really suspenseful and well acted.  Happy weekend!

One thought on “The Kitchen Next Door

  1. Pingback: Waterloo Restaurant | Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

