Barrel Aged Gin

I’ve got a new love and it’s been aged in a barrel.  Am I the last person on Earth to hear of barrel aged gin?  I didn’t even know you could put gin in a barrel.  But, somebody is, and it is so right.  My good friend introduced this to me last night and I was so pleased with it’s flavor.   It has a ever slight maltiness and smokiness to it.  It’s a very subtle flavor as it spends such a short time in the oak barrel.

Old Tom Gin was created by Ransom Spirits to be historically accurate to the way gin was made before Prohibition.  This gin has incredible flavor, the typical juniper berry, but also lemon peel, coriander, cardamom, orange peel, and angelica root.  Paired with that small bit of malt from the barrel,this gin has a flavor that is unlike your normal, run-of-the-mill gin.

We had ours with tonic which was delightful.  I tried a little on the side without tonic too, and I couldn’t stop talking about how much I liked it.  I said it tasted more gin-y to me, and my friend laughed at me.  If I enjoy this, it would lead me to believe that I could work my way up to liking bourbon or whiskey, which is aged in a barrel for much longer.  Baby steps, people.  I’d like to try making some whisky cocktails with this gin, just see what kind of flavor it would have.  Maybe a Manhattan or Old Fashioned.

We had gin and tonics with a little pre-dinner snack: marcona almonds, dried cantaloupe and two different kinds of salami.  Marcona almonds are almonds that are grown on the Mediterranean coast of Spain and are shorter and sweeter than almonds here in the us.  Also, the dried cantaloupe is super tasty and I may need to go buy another box today.

It was a fun night and I got to try some new, delicious gin.  Thanks for the new addiction and a lovely day, Elaine!

Leave a Reply

