Experiments With Oat Flour: Raisin Walnut Muffins

I did some baking last weekend and experimented with oat flour.  I have a massive bag of steel cut oats and I am slowly working my way through them.  Lately, I’ve taken an interest in using alternative flours in baking.  My interest doesn’t stem from a gluten allergy or intolerance, but curiosity as to how different grain flours react in the baking process.  Since many alternative grain flours don’t contain gluten, the texture and taste of the baked good changes dramatically.

I started off pretty safe with these muffins and only replaced half of the wheat flour with oat flour.  I didn’t want to end up with flat, pancake muffins.  Whole wheat, stone ground flour was my choice for the other flour.  Usually, I do half all purpose, half whole wheat flour when I bake, but I was trying to create a pretty healthy muffin.  I’m on a constant quest to make a muffin that will stick with me for a while.

These muffins had a lot of cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins and walnuts.  I really liked the taste, but I thought they were too dry.  I used butter for the fat in this recipe, but I might try adding applesauce or full-fat yogurt to add some moisture to these.  Otherwise, they turned out pretty well.  They were almost the height of my usual muffins with wheat flour.  So, no recipe yet, but expect some more experimenting this weekend!  I’m also trying to work out an oat pancake recipe.

Anyone have any tips for working with alternative grain flours?

Leave a Reply

