Candied Lemon and Orange Peel

I found myself with a surplus of lemons this weekend.  I got a little excited a Whole Foods last week and bought a lot of lemons.  When I saw Elle candying grapefruit peels, I decided to try my hand at some candying too.  I bought some oranges and made a medley  of orange and lemon peels.  I used this recipe from Food Network, and it was super easy.  I didn’t have a candy thermometer to measure the exact temperature of the sugar and water and my peels turned out just fine.

I blanched the peels only twice, rather than the three times suggested because I wanted some bitterness from the peels to remain.  I think next time I will even blanch them just once to get even more of the bitterness to come through.  The other thing I would do differently next time is coat the peels with sugar in batches rather than all at once.  Or I would set them on a drying rack and then sprinkle sugar on them.  My sugar coating was a little on the heavy side, but it’s the holidays, so who’s complaining about extra sugar?

love these!  I’ve been snacking on them throughout the day.  I’m partial to the lemon peels because they retained more of the bitterness.  Next time, I am going to either do all lemon, or another bitter fruit so that I get more of that bitterness coming through in the final product.  I’d like to try limes.  Can you peel limes?  I enjoyed the candied orange peel too though.  Now I have a large of amount of candied peels and I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them.  I gave away some to my sister and her boyfriend, but I’ll have to get creative with them.

3 thoughts on “Candied Lemon and Orange Peel

  1. Pingback: Candied Citrus Peel and Cranberry Muffins | Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

