New Biscuit Trick

I tried a new trick this year when I was making cream cheese biscuits.  Usually, I use a pastry cutter to cut the butter and cream cheese into tiny pieces.  This year, I decided to try a new trick I’ve read about in several places.  It escapes me now where exactly I read this trick, (I think Food 52 had an article on it.), but I can’t claim credit for this great idea.

The trick is pretty simple and it made making biscuits a lot easier.  I grated a frozen stick of butter on the largest hole of the cheese grater.  I stuck the plate of butter shreds in the freezer until I was ready to use them and then I just slid them off the plate and into the dough.  It took a few seconds to break up some of the shreds that stuck together, but it was still faster than breaking them up by hand.  I still broke up the chunks of cream cheese by hand.

Looks like jack cheese.

The biscuits are from the book Quick Vegetarian Pleasures, by Jeanne Lemlin.  I don’t think I can post the recipe here, but they are good enough to buy the book for that recipe alone.  We have made these every year on Thanksgiving for as long as I can remember and the book’s spine is broken so it opens to the biscuit recipe.  We’ve made them that many times.  Happy butter grating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

