A Return to Yoga

ashtanga primary series

It has been five months and 11 days since I partially ruptured my Achilles tendon. I finally deemed myself strong enough to attend a yoga class about two weeks ago, but had some trouble getting there.  Partly because I’ve gotten out of the routine of exercising and am lazy and partly because I was nervous about how my first class back would go.

On Wednesday night, I finally went. I took the Beginner’s Om Flow at Om Time. It was a hour long class but slower paced for beginners (or people with a bum foot). It was a perfectly paced class for me.  I wish I could tell you that I fell right back into the rhythm of a flow class and that I felt great the whole time, but the reality is that it was a pretty awkward class.  I am incredibly stiff and perhaps more inflexible that I was pre-accident.  Didn’t think that was possible.  I almost felt brittle, like I could snap in half I didn’t bend my knees to touch my toes.

I won’t sugar coat it and during class I felt pretty frustrated.  It’s abundantly clear how much this accident set me back fitness and strength wise.  Make no mistake that I had a lot of strength pre-accident, but I had some.  I feel like Ole Man Rivers, now, but the female version, whatever that is.  But, I am glad that I went.  I started get less frustrated and focus more on the class when we started flowing through the warrior series.  That’s my favorite series, especially reverse warrior.  (That’s the pose right between “Ashtanga Yoga” and “As It Is” in the title in the picture.  The one with the person’s hand up.)  It feels very free to me, like I’ve just dropped something from my hand and can surrender now.  I like to think about dropping all the “What ifs” in my life in this pose.

So, I’ll probably be back this week to do yoga and cut myself a little slack in class.  It’s nice to be back, despite how geriatric I look.

Leave a Reply

