Maple Granola

IMG_1451

I’ve been contemplating home made granola for a little while, but all the recipes I’ve seen always call for approximately 1000 ingredients and I usually have none of them.  My other complaint about granola is that it can be too sweet.  I’m looking for something I can feel good eating for breakfast, not dessert.  What I was looking for was a basic recipe that I could modify to fit my kitchen ingredients.  I finally found this formula from Chocolate & Zucchini yesterday.  And so became my first batch of home made granola.

Maple Granola

Ingredients:

3 cups rolled oats

1 & 1/4 cups raw pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup slivered almonds

2 tablespoons whole flax seeds

1 & 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons extra virgin coconut oil

6 tablespoons maple syrup

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.

2. Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl until all the ingredients are uniformly distributed.

3.  Line a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil and spray with pan spray.  Add granola to pan and place in oven.

4.  Stir granola every 10 minutes until it reaches your desired crunchiness.  Mine took roughly 35-40 minutes.

This granola was spot on!  It had the perfect amount of crunch.  I let mine go a little longer in the oven than indicated in the directions because I like mine extra crunchy.  The flax seeds get extra crispy and give the granola great texture.  The maple syrup adds the perfect hint of sweetness but the kicker was that half teaspoon of salt.  Sweet and salt is one of my favorite combinations, and it makes this granola extra addictive.  Take a shot at making some home made granola.  It’s probably one of the easiest things I’ve made!

 

Leave a Reply

