Eating Out: The Post Brewing Company

IMG_0385

 

Last week, Steve and I went out on a mid week date night.  He took me to The Post Brewing Company in Lafayette and it was awesome!  We’ve been trying to explore more restaurants closer to our house, instead of driving all the way into Boulder or Denver.  The Post will definitely become part of our regular rotation.  The deal was sealed for me when I ordered the Moscow Mule picture above and it came in a copper cup.  If you can correctly serve your Moscow Mule in the right vessel, then I’m in.  That means you take your cocktails seriously!  Steve ordered Lemon Mint Shandy, which he had the first time he came here with a friend and liked it so much, he ordered it again.  I had a couple of sips and it was cool and refreshing, perfect for a hot day.  The Post brews their own beer, which I unfortunately cannot speak to how good it is.  (I’ll have to make Steve go back and be a guinea pig.)

IMG_0386

We started with deviled eggs.  These are not your grandma’s deviled eggs with mayo and paprika sprinkled on top.  Nope, these are the deviled eggs that dreams are made of.  There are crispy pork cheeks as a garnish on the eggs, zippy mustard in the filling and it’s served with a horse radish dipping sauce.  A most excellent choice!

IMG_0389

The super great thing about The Post is that most of their menu is gluten free!  I can’t remember the last time I ordered something fried at a restaurant, but here, the crispy chicken basket is gluten free.  Their fried chicken and all their sauces on their dishes are gluten free as well.  This makes me incredibly happy.  I get mighty tired of ordering a salad every time I go out to eat.  I could not stop eating this Crispy Chicken Pieces basket.  It had fried livers, oysters and chicharrones.  The apricot/mustard sauce was a nice accompaniment to the chicken; the acid from the mustard in the sauce cut nicely through the fat of the chicken.

My personal favorite pieces were the pieces of liver.  I ate almost the whole basket, and then spent the night in a fried food coma.  Those pieces were simply perfect-light, airy and crisp.  I also really enjoyed the fried pieces of vegetables that were in there, cauliflower and bell pepper.

IMG_0387 IMG_0388

Steve had the fried chicken biscuit, which looked delightful.  We also ordered two sides.  Steve ordered the squash (local squash from Isabelle Farm!) with beer tomato jam and I had roasted beets with kale pesto.  Our server told us that the restaurant tries use as much local produce and products as they can.  We are lucky to live in an area that has many local vendors, so it is nice to see The Post taking advantage of that.

We will definitely be back to The Post!  Their menu changes seasonally, so I’m excited to back and see what new dishes they’ve come up with.  Go check it out!

The Post Brewing Company

105 West Emma St., Lafayette, CO

Leave a Reply

